TPHS Field Hockey Archives 2002


After winning both the CIF championship and the Palomar League, there is a good argument to be made that the 2002 version of the Falcons varsity field hockey team was not just the best team in Torrey Pines history, but also one of the best in the annuls of San Diego County high school field hockey.

In Coach Kari Labeta’s third year at the helm, the team finished with 23 wins and only two losses overall, and swept through the Palomar League undefeated, with eight wins against zero defeats. The Falcons went on to thump San Pasqual 3-0 in the CIF division one final.

The 2002 Falcons also excelled at an individual level: seven of the seniors, two of the juniors and one of the sophomores on the varsity team that year went on to play Division One college hockey including Tami Becker (Boston University), Missy Briery (Louisville), Laura Cosan (Columbia), Jessica Javelet (Louisville), Cara Lopresti (Stanford and Duke), Danielle Neault (Pacific), Ashley Pernicano (Michigan State), Haley Scott (Wake Forest) and Tracey Scott (Wake Forest).

The players also garnered a number of individual awards that season. Cara Lopresti was named CIF Player of the Year – the only time in 24 years of field hockey that a Falcon has won that honor. Lopresti was joined on the all CIF first team by Haley Scott and Ashley Pernicano. Tracey Scott and Laura Cosan were named to the CIF second team. 

Eight different Falcons made the Palomar League all-star teams including the five above as well as Jessica Javelet and Kelley Birch. At the Falcons’ own end of the season awards banquet, Lopresti and Haley Scott shared the Most Outstanding Athlete award. 


Varsity Scores (Partial List, 13 of 25 total games):
[23-2 season record, 8-0 in Palomar League, league champions, CIF playoff champions]
  Eastlake 7-0
  Serra 4-1
  Fallbrook 2-0
  Scripps Ranch 0-1
  San Pasqual 3-0
  Bishops 5-0
  Hilltop 11-0
  San Marcos 6-0
  La Costa Canyon 2-1
  Vista 1-0
  San Dieguito 2-0
  Rancho Buena Vista 1-0
  Vista 2-0

The Teams:

Head Coach: Kari Labeta

Tami Becker (11)
Kelley Birch (10)
Missy Briery (11)
Kristen Coleman (11) 
Laura Cosan (12)
Kaitlyn Doe (12)
Jessica Javelet (12)
Cara Lopresti (12)
Danielle Neault (10) 
AJ O'Rourke (10)
Ashley Pernicano (12)
Haley Scott (12)
Tracey Scott (12) 
Suzanne Smoot (11)
Chelsea Summerhays (11) 
Catherine Waite (11) 
Laura Wang (12) 
Suzanne Woodruff (11) 

Junior Varsity
Coach: Lyndsey Golden

Katie Abell (10) 
Kali Bills (10)
Kristen Bills (10) 
Lindsey Block (10) 
Amber Britton (10) 
Marianne Campbell (10) 
Ali Cutting (9) 
Mallory Gauthier (10) 
Sarah Gold (10) 
Kaitlyn Hemingway (10) 
Eri Ichikawa (10) 
Katie Jung (10)
Amy Kinney (10) 
Kim Krieger (10) 
Leilani Lamchin (9) 
Rachel Lary (10) 
Erin Morgan (10)
Andrea Putnam (10)
Jessica Reading (10)
Casan Van Langan (10)
Alexis Watts (10)
Heather Wiley (10)

Coach: Nicole Shelton 

Becca Landman 
Steffi Bryson 
Stephanie Smoot 
Alex Weisel
Beckey Parker 
Erin Gordon 
Erin Markee 
Audrey Brand 
Ashley Grand 
Allison Burger 
Lauren Lafleur 
Karissa L’Italien 
Kaitlin Maguire 
Claire O’Leary 
Kelli Brull 
Jennifer Miao 
Sauna Peterson 
Nadine Bialostosky 

The TPHS Field Hockey Archives were assembled in 2008 in an attempt to document the history of the Torrey Pines Field Hockey Program. Unfortunately we didn't have a team website prior to 2003 (with the exception of a student-created website of the 2000 season). The Archives were created by the efforts of Joe Yogerst, Kari DiGiulio, and Analia Carlson. Former players, parents of players and coaches: to please send us whatever information that might have from the past that could help us fill in the missing years!

Questions or comments regarding this page may be sent to or 

visitors since 1/21/2008

page last updated March 15, 2008 7:26pm